Updates

I keep meaning to post but have been being very good and making myself concentrate on uni work instead. Now I have a little bit of free time (I should be going to the gym right now but I’m not…) so here’s an update on what I’ve been doing since I started the blog:

1) World Vegan Day

I went! I had a blast, ate a LOT of amazing food and met some really cool people. It was at The Loft, marking their transition from providing vegetarian food to providing 100% vegan food. And they did a really good job, we had samples of foods from around the world and I thought I was going to have to roll home. I might have to try and get along to some of their yoga, dinner and dessert nights sometime.

2) First restaurant visit…

And surprise there was nothing vegan on the menu. However, I asked the waitress and she was lovely and accommodating, suggesting a recipe that could be easily modified (A pasta dish with oven roasted veges) and I enjoyed it a lot. So that was a pleasant first experience of something I thought would be really challenging…I’m sure in most places it is.

3) Burger Fuel

I tried their Vegan burger. It was ok.

4) FOOD!

I have been cooking! Lots! Here are pretty pictures and some recipes…

Tomato Soup

Very rich and spicy

Very rich and spicy

Un-cheesy Spread

Un-cheese!

Un-cheese!

Sunny Day Smoothie

Banana, pineapple, melon and grape

Banana, pineapple, melon and grape

Mediterranean Tofu Sandwich

RAWR!!!

RAWR!!!

Recipes to come…

So far I’m still really enjoying this…I love the cooking, I get all excited about recipes and create them and they are lovely and that’s all great. I feel good about myself. But I am having the odd panic time – “ohmigod what am I doing, how can I do this, it’ll make my life difficult, I will let myself down…” But I think that’s normal. I’m actually not regretting doing this, I still feel like it’s a positive thing. But like any major change, there are doubts and moments of pure unadulterated fear. I’ll settle down. The only thing I actually miss is cheese.

I have a few more things to talk about but I think I’ll give them more time in posts of their own.

Over and out!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Heliamphora said,

    Love the blog, theo! 🙂

    That sammich has att-i-tude.

    I’m jealous… Burger Fuel has not got as far south as Christchurch. I got to try it when I lived in the Hutt Valley though.

    Seeya around VW!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

